Valley Hill Baptist Church

VHBC History

Valley Hill Baptist Church was founded in 1908. Since then our pulpit has been shared by many pastors, but the message has remained the same for over a century.

Our Church History

VALLEY HILL BAPTIST CHURCH began in 1908 when some people in the area realized the need for a Baptist Church in their community. The group of interested people included Mr. and Mrs. John L. Redden, Mr. and Mrs. James Jackson, Mr. and Mrs. Ben Smith, Frank Mintz, Jerome Bryant, Sewell Blythe, Mrs. C. A Mintz and the Rev. William A. Morris, fondly called Uncle Billy.

Ficker School House was ·used until 1919 when a one room church building was completed. The Sunday School was so large that the school house was used for educational space until two large classrooms and a vestibule were added.

At first worship services were, held only once each month on Saturdays so that both business and worship could be conducted; but Sunday School met weekly with an average attendance of between 45 and 50. The average offering was $2.50 per week.

The preacher usually came on Friday and spent the night with a church member. Most of his pay was in gifts of clothing, produce, canned goods and an annual pounding at Christmas. The first pastor was W. A. Morris. The. first choir director was Luther Kilpatrick and the first organist was Julia Redden.

In 1938 a full basement was added for classrooms. The building committee consisted of D. H. Kilpatrick, Cecil Stepp and Frank Mintz. In 1949 a pastorium with three bedrooms was built on Stepp Street. The property was bought from M. B. Jackson. The debt was paid off in June, 1952.

Ground was broken for a modern brick church build­ing on October 29, 1961. Vester Blanton was pastor at that time. D. H. Kilpatrick and M. B. Jackson took part in the service as the two eldest members. George Johnson was chair of the build­ing committee. A fire in the old building caused a more intense effort to complete the new structure. During the interval, the Valley Hill Elementary School building was used. By June, 1963, the classrooms and fellowship hall were ready. for use. The first worship service m the new sanctuary was conducted No­vember 10, 1963.

The list of pastors include: W. A. Morris, Lynch Brookshire, C. D. Cole, T. C. Holtzclaw, Sam Huntley, C. E. Blythe, R R. Mehaffey (three times), Bayle Rogers, A. G. Sargon, Walter Holtzclaw, Joe Mason, E. A. Kilstrom, Thomas Thompson, Walter McGuire, Jyles Hall, Allard Garren, Paul Lovingood, J. C. Canipe, Lloyd Mauney, Vester Blanton, C. H. Green, Charles Middleton, James R. Byrd, Sam Gore and Kenny Corn who became pastor in 1993.

Pastoral Timeline

1908 - 1911
1911 - 1915
1915- 1916
1916 - 1919
1919 - 1920
1920 - 1920
1921 - 1923
1923 - 1927
1927 - 1927
1927 - 1930
1930 -1933
1933 -1934
1934 -1936
1936 - 1941
1942 - 1943
1943 - 1948
1948 - 1951
1951 - 1953
1954 - 1957
1958 - 1960
1961 - 1962
1962 - 1965
1965 - 1973
1973 - 1975
1975 - 1985
09/85 - 07/91
11/92 - 1996
12/98 - 2013
2015 - 2017
8/13/17- Present

W. A. Morris


C. D. Cole


Lynch Brookshire


T. C. Holtzclaw


Sam Huntley


C. E. Blythe


R. R. Mehaffey


Bayle Rogers


A. G. Sargon


R. R. Mehaffey


Walter Holtzclaw


R. R. Mehaffey


Joe Masson


E. A. Kilstrom


Thomas Thompson


Walter McGuire


Jyles Hall


Allard Garren


Paul Lovingood


J. C. Canipe


Lloyd Mauney


Vester Blanton


C. H. Greene


Charles F. Middleton


Jim Byrd


Samual W. Gore


Kenneth A. Corn


Travis Cain


Danny Pridemore


James McHarge


David G. Woodie


2 Timothy 4:1-2

1  I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom;
Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long suffering and doctrine.1